< Articles

Enneagram Types

The Enneagram is a personality assessment tool that categorizes individuals into nine distinct personality types. The Enneagram provides deep insight into an individual's motivations, strengths, and weaknesses. The following is a comprehensive breakdown of the nine Enneagram types from the Enneagram of Personality.

Type 1

Type 1 individuals are principled and strive for perfection. They are responsible and have a strong sense of duty. They value order, ethics, and self-discipline. Type 1 individuals are often critical of themselves and others.

Type 2

Type 2 individuals are empathetic and caring. They are motivated by a desire to help others and are often involved in social causes. They value relationships and prioritize the needs of others over their own.

Type 3

Type 3 individuals are ambitious and driven. They are motivated by success and recognition. They value efficiency, productivity, and excellence. Type 3 individuals are often competitive and work hard to achieve their goals.

Type 4

Type 4 individuals are creative and introspective. They are motivated by a desire to express themselves and often have unique talents and abilities. They value authenticity and beauty. Type 4 individuals can be moody and tend to dwell on negative emotions.

Type 5

Type 5 individuals are analytical and logical. They are motivated by a desire to understand the world around them. They value knowledge and often pursue intellectual interests. Type 5 individuals can be reserved and may struggle with social interactions.

Type 6

Type 6 individuals are loyal and trustworthy. They are motivated by a desire for security and safety. They value stability and predictability. Type 6 individuals can be anxious and may struggle with making decisions.

Type 7

Type 7 individuals are adventurous and spontaneous. They are motivated by a desire for excitement and new experiences. They value freedom and variety. Type 7 individuals can be impulsive and struggle with commitment.

Type 8

Type 8 individuals are strong-willed and assertive. They are motivated by a desire for control and power. They value strength and independence. Type 8 individuals can be confrontational and may struggle with vulnerability.

Type 9

Type 9 individuals are peaceful and accommodating. They are motivated by a desire for harmony and unity. They value cooperation and inclusivity. Type 9 individuals can be indecisive and may struggle with asserting their own needs.

Each Enneagram type has its unique strengths and challenges. By understanding our Enneagram type, we can gain valuable insight into our motivations and behaviors. This self-awareness can help us improve our relationships, communication, and personal growth.

Tags: Link . Link

Subscribe to my Newsletter

Get the latest personality science delivered right to your inbox

We will never spam you or share your email address
Avatar of Author

Marshall Æon

Marshall has been studying personality science for nearly 20 years. He has also studied and been trained in a variety of psychological and spiritual modalities and pratices. He's currently working on a book based on the Enneagram.